The Scottish Curry Awards 2011 took place on the 18th of May in the Marriott Hotel, Glasgow. Oceanic Consulting were joined by celebrity guests from the worlds of showbiz, Business and Politics, who attended the glittering occasion celebrating curry: from Nicola Sturgeon to Miss Scotland. The glamour wasn't only found offstage but on stage as well as the host for the evening was Bryan Burnett.

The 2011 Awards saw some of Scotland's curry greats crowned in their nomination categories. However, once again there were so many nominations that not all could be winners – over 5,000 nominations were received for the 2009 Awards. This does not mean that the nominees hard work and commitment to the curry industry has not been noticed. A special thank you goes to all our wonderful nominees of 2011 and a special thank you to those who made the finalist short list.

View Media Response Pack 2011 >
Download Event Brochure >
Shortlist >

The Sunday Post Restaurant of the Year
North West
Cinnamon Inverness
Spice Tandoori Fort William
South West
Mother India Glasgow
Balbir's Church Street, Glasgow
North East
Bombay Joes Dundee
Nawaab's Restaurant Aberdeen
South East
Omar Khayyam Edinburgh
Suruchi Edinburgh

Take-Away of the Year
Cafe India Glasgow
Durbar Kirkcaldy
Banana Leaf Glasgow
Monsoona Aberdeen
Eastern Spices Edinburgh

Team of the Year
Taj Mahal Biggar
Mushtaq's Restaurant Hamilton
Ashoka Johnstone Johnstone
Maisha St. Andrews
Cafe India Merchant City, Glasgow

Chef of the Year
Mahrukh Butt - Bukharah Glasgow
Ajmal Mushtaq - Mushtaq's Restaurant Hamilton
Kantesh Chowdhury - Bombay Joe's Dundee
Sajawal Hussain - Manzil Perth
Gurwinder Kumar - Karma Indian Restaurant Whitburn

Best Supermarket Curry Award
Marks & Spencer

The Curry Lover of the Year Award
Trampy and the Tramp
Gerry Taylor 'Hector'
Tam Cowan

Curry King or Queen 2011
Will be announced on the day

Lifetime Achievement Award
Will be announced on the day

Our get involved & Partners